The board (Executive Committee) is constituted of 5 members. These are: The President, The Vice-President, The Past-President, The Secretary and the Treasurer. The board members are elected for 3 years, during the annual general meeting of the members (AGM) or if necessary at a specially called members assembly.

ESVCN Board Members (2017-2020)

Aulus Carciofi


Aulus has been a valuable member of the society for many years. He graduated in veterinary medicine and works as Professor at the College of Agrarian and Veterinarian Scienes of Sao Paulo State University, Brazil.

He specialises in nutrition and nutritional diseases in dogs and cats as well as formulation and thermomechanical processing of pet food. 

Aulus has been strongly involved in the residency program since 2001, having supervised 19 vets so far and supporting them towards their Diplomate exams, as well as giving lectures and helping with exams. 



Britta Dobenecker

Past President

Britta Dobenecker, Dr. med. vet., EBVS® European Specialist in Veterinary and Comparative Nutrition, works as senior scientist at the Chair of Animal Nutrition and Dietetics of the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich, Germany. Her lab mainly focusses on comparative aspects of calcium and phosphorus metabolism, renal and skeletal health as well as energy metabolism. She also works clinical cases of various species including zoo animals and is involved in several industry projects.



After qualifying from the University of Cambridge Veterinary School, Pat completed her PhD at the Animal Health Trust in Newmarket into the Equine Rhabdomyolysis Syndrome. She joined the WALTHAM Centre for Pet Nutrition in 1995 and is responsible for the research carried out by the Equine Studies group in collaboration with experts at institutes and universities around the world. This research provides the science behind the SPILLERS®, BUCKEYE NUTRITION® and WINERGY® brands.  She is also an Adjunct Professor of Equine Studies at VirginiaPolytechnic Institute and State University, a visiting Professor in the School of Animal Rural and Environmental Sciences Nottingham Trent University and an Adjunct Professor at University of Queensland Australia. Dr. Harris is a European Specialist in Veterinary Clinical and Comparative Nutrition, and an RCVS recognised specialist in veterinary clinical nutrition (equine) in addition to being a Past President of the British Equine Veterinary Association. She is also the European liaison to the board of American Academy of Veterinary Nutrition and Vice-President of the Equine Science Society   as well as the President of the European Society of Veterinary and Comparative Nutrition.  She is the author or co-author of over 500 scientific papers, abstracts and book chapters and most recently was the co-editor of, and an author in, the 2013 key textbook Equine Applied and Clinical Nutrition: Health, Welfare and Nutrition. Dr. Harris’s particular areas of interest include equine obesity, laminitis and senior horse nutrition.

Maria Grazia Cappai, DVM., PhD


Maria graduated with a Veterinary Degree from the Università degli Studi di Sassari Dipartimento di Medicina Veterinaria Italy Sassari and followed this up with a PhD in Production, Quality and Hygiene of Food of Animal Origin.  She has completed courses in meat production and tracability as well as Animal Welfare. Since 2005 she is Assistant Professor at the University of Sassari. She is an active member in many animal nutrition related societies such as American Society of Nutrition (ASN), Member of Associazione per le Scienze delle Produzioni Animali (ASPA), Member of Società Italiana di patololgia e allevamento degli ovini e dei caprini (SIPAOC). In 2011 she received the prestigous Helmut Meyer Award for her presentation at ESVCN Congress.  She is now Assistant Professor of Animal Nutrition at the Dept. of Veterinary Medicine, Doctoral School in Veterinary Science University of Sassari.  Within her area she specialises in Metabolism, Metabolic Diseases, Body Composition and Pharmacology.  

Ronald Jan Corbee, DVM, PhD, Dipl. ECVCN,


Ronald Jan Corbee is an assistant-professor at Utrecht University The Netherlands. He is an ECVCN Diplomate since September 2011. His PhD was on Nutrition and skeletal health in dogs and cats. He runs the Clinical Nutrition Service at the Veterinary Teaching Hospital, is involved in academic teaching, and is involved in several research projects, mostly on obesity, nutrition and orthopedics, nutrition and dentistry, shelter medicine, advance glycation end products, and IBD and microbiome in dogs.

First Board

Prof. Josef Leibetseder – President

Prof. Ronald S. Anderson – Vice-President

Prof. Helmut C. Meyer – Honorary President

Prof. Dominique Grandjean - Treasurer

Dr. Jacques Debraekeleer - Secretary

History of the ESVCN Board


The latest statutes were updated in November 2018 after being unanimously agreed at the AGM in September 2018, Munich. The statutes are registered in Vienna where the Society was founded.

Find Out More